Royal stamps for Royal Society

Royal Mail Stamps has issued a commemorative set of stamps in the UK to celebrate the 350th anniversary of the Royal Society this year. The stamps feature ten of the most prominent fellows of the Royal Society:

  • Robert Boyle – Chemistry
  • Sir Isaac Newton – Optics
  • Benjamin Franklin – Electricity
  • Edward Jenner – Vaccination
  • Charles Babbage – Computing
  • Alfred Russel Wallace – Evolution
  • Sir Joseph Lister – Antiseptic Surgery
  • Ernest Rutherford – Atomic Structure
  • Dorothy Hodgkin – Crystallography
  • Sir Nicholas Shackleton – Earth Science

The stamps marry portraits of Fellows with imagery representing their science. Apparently, the list was selected by leading figures in the Society.

Author: bob投注平台

Award-winning freelance science writer, author of Deceived Wisdom. Sharp-shooting photographer and wannabe rockstar.